Chris M. ''Matt'' Dillon Lawyer
Representing Clients Throughout Texas
Call Today!

DWI Defense: Driver’s License Suspension Hearings

You may have been told that your driver’s license will be automatically suspended if you have been charged with a DWI. This is not necessarily true. You have the right to request an administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing within 15 days of receiving a notice of suspension. It is recommended that you always request a hearing. Doing so provides your lawyer with the opportunity to gather information that may help strengthen your DWI defense.

I am Chris M. “Matt” Dillon, a Bastrop-based attorney who has been handling drunk driving cases for more than 18 years. I can represent in your ALR hearing as well as in all criminal proceedings arising from your DWI charge. To learn more, schedule a consultation by calling me at 512-764-3837.

Saving Your Texas Driver’s License

Your notice of suspension will usually be served on the day you are arrested, giving you 15 days to request an ALR hearing. If you fail to request this hearing, your license will be automatically suspended. If you request a hearing before the deadline, you will be able to continue to drive until an administrative law judge rules against you and suspends your driver’s license.

If you lose your ALR hearing and your license is suspended, you may still be eligible for an essential needs or occupational driver’s license. This type of license will enable you to travel to and from work, and to perform other essential tasks, such as picking up your kids from school or making trips to the grocery store.

There are a number of complexities that can arise during the course of an ALR hearing, which is why securing legal counsel to represent you is very important.

Contact Me If Your License Is In Danger Of Being Suspended

I provide comprehensive DWI defense representation. Call me at 512-764-3837 or contact me online to schedule an appointment to discuss your case.